Scholarships and Awards

  • Distinguished Service Award


    Joseph P. Annis, MD, an Austin physician has been honored with the 2016 Texas Medical Association (TMA) Distinguished Service Award. He received TMA’s top honor during TexMed 2016, the association’s annual conference in Dallas. TMA’s Board of Councilors ethics body selected him for the award.


    Congratulations to Dr. Annis  
  • TMA is helping to strengthen your practice by offering personal advice and creating a climate of medical success across the state.

  • What could a TMA membership mean for you, your practice, and your patients?

  • Scholarships and Awards Articles

    Excellence in Science Teaching Awards

    The Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching are awarded each year to exceptional science teachers at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Each top recipient receives a cash prize along with a resource grant for their schools' science programs.

    Nominate an Outstanding Teacher
  • Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine 


    The TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine is a multi-level award program developed to give special recognition to academic physicians who are consummate teachers, role models, and medical professionals. TMA is eager to recognize Texas physician leaders who have simultaneously dedicated their lives to the care of their patients and to the preparation of the physician workforce of tomorrow. The value of our academic leaders to the family of medicine is priceless.

    Awards for Excellence  
  • Investing in the Future of Medicine


    TMA Loan Funds provide low interest loans and a variety of scholarship opportunities for medical students and resident physicians. Read more about the funds available, access helpful tools and links, or access your account online. 

    TMA Loans and Scholarships